Southern Ontario Collegiate

Travel Update

December 1, 2021

The government of Canada has placed a ban on travellers arriving from ten countries: Nigeria, Malawi, Egypt, South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini. This is part of the process around questions regarding the Omicron strain of the Covid virus.

We do not know how long travel restrictions will be in place but are hopeful that changes in health and pandemic medicine will help governments respond in an effective time frame.

If you have booked a flight for a student to travel to Canada, we recommend the following:

- 1. Keep in contact with your airline and travel representative.
- 2. Check Canada Immigration regularly at https://www.canada.ca/en/services/immigration-citizenship.html
- 3. Check ArriveCan regularly at https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/coronavirus-disease-covid-19/arrivecan.html

Similarly, if you are planning to travel to study at Southern Ontario Collegiate but have not yet booked your flight, please check the ArriveCan and Canada Immigration websites regularly and let us know your plans.

We will continue to keep you up to date.

For further information, please contact us at:

admin@mysoc.ca and alison.currie@mysoc.ca